Tolkien Reading Day

20170325_113407.jpg

Today we celebrate Tolkien Reading Day as we do every year since 2003, doing this we try to praise and keep his legacy and literary work alive. With this post in my blog I just want to share with you my experience reading Tolkien, who is one of the fathers of the epic high-fantasy genre, and how much I love his books.

My first approach to Tolkien’s work was in my early teens, when the first movie of The Lord of the Rings trilogy came out, I clearly remember that I loved that movie so much and even my parents bought me one of the books for Christmas. But, I was such a silly boy by that time that I decided that I wanted The Two Towers, rather than The Fellowship of the Ring which is the first book.

Making that mistake was the lowest point of my reading life, which I was able to get over it while reading other authors. Until one day I thought that I have to read the complete trilogy, so I bought me a kindle copy and started to read it during the summer of 2015, then I also read The Hobbit; and I have to say that it was a great experience and now Tolkien is one of my favourite writers of all times.

Now, I want to read The Silmarillion and also get me a copy of the complete trilogy to have in my bookshelves and also for re-reading it in the future.

2 thoughts on “Tolkien Reading Day

  1. Nunca hemos leído nada de Tolkien 😕😔 le tenemos como “cosita”, pero si yo pudiera empezarlo a leer comenzaría con El Hobbit, que es la peli que me gusta!
    Muy buen post, casi no se inglés pero lo entendí 😀 🙌 me sirvió de práctica!!
    Saludos!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hola! Muchas gracias, la verdad es que escribir en inglés fue más complicado de lo que me esperaba, pero bueno, intente hacerlo lo mejor que pude.
      Si el Hobbit está muy bien, me encanta que puedas “cantar” las canciones que cantan los enanos durante la película.
      Pero para mí nada supera a la “Comunidad del anillo” es donde más se aprecia el carácter de Tolkien, defensor de la naturaleza, de las costumbres y de la amistad.
      Yo siempre digo que el Señor de los Anillos trata principalmente sobre la amistad y luego sobre “ecologismo”.

      Like

Leave a Reply

